Consistent Uncertainties

Never underestimate your power to heal with a kind smile or hurt with a simple word.

Did You Know……….?

Leave a comment

Let’s take a moment to reflect on the following statistics.

Did you know?

Half of Canadian women (51%) have experienced at least one incident of physical or sexual violence since the age of 16.

Did you know?

Every minute of every day, a Canadian woman or child is being sexually assaulted.

Did you know?

Spousal violence makes up the single largest category of convictions involving violent offences in non-specialized adult courts in Canada over the five-year period 1997/98 to 2001/02. Over 90% of offenders were male.

Did you know?

Thirty-six percent of female victims of spousal violence and less than 10% of victims of sexual assault reported these crimes to the police in 2004.

Did you know?

Physical and sexual abuse costs Canada over $4 billion each year (factoring into account social services, criminal justice, lost employment days and health care interventions).

Did you know?

Violence against women occurs across all ethnic, racial, religious, age, social and economic groups. Some women are more vulnerable however, and are more likely to experience violence, including women with disabilities, geographically-isolated women, young women and Aboriginal women.

Did you know?

Women experience higher rates than men of sexual assault, stalking, serious spousal assaults and spousal homicide.

Did you know?

In 2004, twice as many women than men were beaten by their partners and four times as many were choked.

Did you know?

Of the almost 34,000 victims of spousal violence reported in 2000, women accounted for the majority of victims (85%): a total of 28,633 victims.
Women are three times more likely than men to be physically injured by spousal violence and five times more likely to require medical attention.

Did you know?

Women are five times more likely to fear for their lives as a result of spousal violence: the violence or threat of violence was so severe that 38% of women feared for their lives compared with 7% of men.

Did you know?

Every year in Canada, up to 360,000 children are exposed to domestic violence.

Did you know?

For children who are exposed to violence, consequences can include emotional trauma, depression, injury and permanent disability, as well as other physical, psychological and behavioural problems that can extend into adolescence and adulthood.

Did you know?

58,486 women and 36,840 children sought refuge in one of 473 shelters across Canada between April 1, 2003 and March 31, 2004.

And finally, did you know?

One to two women are murdered by a current or former partner each week in Canada.

I found this poem and thought I’d post it to drive the point home to anyone reading this blog today that the abuse must stop

I GOT FLOWERS TODAY

by Paulette Kelly

Dedicated to all battered women.

• • •
I got flowers today!
It wasn’t my birthday or any other special day;
We had our first argument last night;

And he said a lot of cruel things that really hurt;
I know that he is sorry and didn’t mean to say the things he said;
Because he sent me flowers today.
• • •
I got flowers today!
It wasn’t our anniversary or any other special day;
Last night he threw me into a wall and then started choking me;
It seemed like a nightmare, but you wake up from nightmares to find they aren’t real.
• • •
I got flowers today!
And it wasn’t Valentine’s Day or any other special day;
Last night he beat me and threatened to kill me;
Make-up and long-sleeves didn’t hide the cuts and bruises this time;
I couldn’t go to work today because I didn’t want anyone to know-but I know he’s sorry;
Because he sent me flowers today.
• • •
I got flowers today!
And it wasn’t Mother’s Day or any other special day;
Last night he beat me again, and it was much worse than all of the other times;
If I leave him, what will I do? How will I take care of the kids? What about money?
I’m afraid of him, but I’m too scared and dependent to leave him! But he must be sorry;
Because he sent me flowers today.
• • •
I got flowers today…Today was a very special day—it was the day of my funeral;
Last night he finally killed me—I was beaten to death;
If only I would have gathered the courage and strength to leave him;
The women’s shelter could have helped me, but I didn’t ask for their help;
So I got flowers today…for the last time.
• • •

Leave a Reply

