Consistent Uncertainties

Never underestimate your power to heal with a kind smile or hurt with a simple word.

Counting My Blessings

Leave a comment

As Christmas 2009 draws closer and the year winds down; my attentions are drawn to the prospects of the new year and all that it holds. I like many others choose this time of year to express my thankfulness for all that is close to me. One thing about following the path that life has unfolded for me is that I have learned to be thankful every day of the year not just at Christmas. With that being said; it can never hurt to mention our blessings at this time of year as well….so long as you don’t lose sight of it on a day-to-day basis the rest of the year. One of the blessings that arose out of the conflict was the learned ability not to take anyone or anything for granted in your life. We often assume that life is there for our taking, sometimes never giving back. I have had the fortune of knowing quite a few takers in my life. BUT…I have known a lot more that tend to give more than they take.  For meeting both types in my travels, I am grateful, because it shows me what direction I would like my life to take in the future. I am blessed to have a tight-knit family who has each others well-being at heart, a daughter who has talents and grace in volumes to great to list here, a genuine and loving man to share it with and the warmth of great friends who are a combination of generosity, compassion and good humour.

So for a little while; allow yourself to forget about those that have wronged you in the past or currently. It very well could be that they are NOT worth the effort. Let them be miserable on their own. Refuse to be a part of their miserable existence and get dragged down by it. Leave it by the wayside and concentrate on something that is more positive….you’ll feel your load lessen and your spirits lift. Even if it’s just for a while. Often are the times we get too bogged down with the bad things for a time and forget what we should be thankful for. It’s easy enough to do. One lesson that my daughter and I have learned well over the years, is that no matter how bad or devastating something is….somewhere, somehow, there will be a small kernel of good within that. The key is to focus on that good kernel and nurture it. That is the seed of hope. From hope comes all possibilities.

Around the corner!    http://www.cheateralert.com

Working toward a better future!

Leave a Reply

